My To-Read List as of June 13, 2012

My dream basement!

If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you’d know that I barely have time to brush my teeth, let alone read any books. But I always find a way, because a) reading books is fun, and b) reading books is essential to my professional and creative development if I am to succeed in both business writing and genre fiction writing stop looking at me like that this is not a justification it’s a totally reasonable argument so there put that in your pipe and smoke it.

Cool? Cool.

So here’s the list. Usually it’s single-volumes. But if there’s any particular series I’d like to read, I just list down the author’s name, instead. Allow me to apologize in advance for how short this list will be.

In no particular order:

1) Hostage Nation: Colombia’s Guerrilla Army – Victoria Bruce, Karin Hayes & Jorge Enrique Botero (Non-Fiction)
2) Across the nightingale floor – Lian Hearn (Historical Fiction)
3) Soon I Will Be Invincible – Austin Grossman (SF)
4) Lois McMaster Bujold (SF)
5) Feed – M.T. Anderson (SF)
6) The Dwarves – Markus Heitz (Fantasy)
7) Saga of Seven Suns – Kevin J Anderson (SF)
8) Black Hearts: One Platoon’s Descent Into Madness in Iraq’s Triangle of Death – Jim Frederick (Non-Fiction)
9) Julie Czerneda (SF/F)
10) Ten Percent of Nothing: The Literary Agent from Hell – Jim Fisher (Non-Fiction)
11) David Foster Wallace – Literary
12) Sonny’s Blues – James Baldwin (Short Story)
13) The New Writer’s Handbook (Vol 2) – Ted Kooser, Philip Martin (Non-Fiction)
14) Mortification: Writers’ stories of their public shame – Robin Robertson (Non-Fiction)
15) The Secret History of Fantasy – Peter S. Beagle (Non-Fiction)
16) Wild Seed – Octavia Butler (Fantasy)
17) The Women Who Lived for Danger: The Agents of the Special Operations Executive – Marcus Binney (Non-Fiction)
18) Defend the Realm: The Authorized History of MI5 – Christopher Andrew (Non-Fiction)
19) Redshirts – John Scalzi (SF)
20) The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman (Fantasy)
21) The Most Expensive Game In Town – Mark Hyman (Non-Fiction)

So what’s on your reading list?

5 comments on “My To-Read List as of June 13, 2012

  1. Wenk says:

    Huhu. This post reminded me of the pile of books I’ve purchased but haven’t gotten around to reading yet. I have almost no time to read anymore! Poor ignored bookssssssss! 😦 –> And it also reminds me of my poor ignored blogs. Double huhu!

  2. Pauline says:

    the only thing on my to read list is that ebook I purchased that I can get around to reading because i can never get hold of the ipad!

Leave a Reply

