Hiatus Highlights Ep 2: Fictioneering

My fiction has probably been the biggest casualty of my schedule.

I’m still managing to make the required number of critiques to keep my writing group from kicking me out. I’ve stopped writing and submitting short stories, though. Not out of frustration from my lack of success (well, maybe a little), but because I need to devote what little time I can scrape together to moving the novel forward. I’ve had to resort to some pretty drastic solutions there, including writing two chapters at the same time–one at home, and the other at work during my breaks (I write it in the Google Drafts page. Not very safe, I know). The good news is I’m having fun writing it. When it works, it works, and my writing group has been really enjoying what they’ve seen so far. The challenge there is keeping it consistent.

One a side note, one of my writing friends has recently gotten a story published. It’s a charity anthology named “The Gruff Variations”, which is a collection of stories based on the fairy tale of the Three Billy Goats Gruff. The anthology was edited by Eric James Stone, and his story will appear next to a bunch of published novelists like Mary Robinette Kowal (Shades of Milk and Honey), Rick Walton (Bullfrog Pops! and other children’s books), and Dan Wells (The John Cleaver trilogy). I’ll post a link to the anthology when it comes out. Congrats Joe!

Leave a Reply

