Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s Thanksgiving in the U.S. today. I know Canadians have our own Thanksgiving date, but I figured since this blog wasn’t around back then, this would be a good time to make up for it. So what in particular am I thankful for?

My family, of course. Flossy and Avi are what make me… well… me. Flossy is always looking out for what’s best for me and the family, even at the expense of her own time and dreams. It’s a kind of selflessness that’s hard to recognize, and even more poignant for the fact that she’s not looking for recognition. She does it because she does it.

And for that, my dear, thanks.

And Avi? It’s a hard job being the cutest little paper-muncher on earth, but she manages just fine. Baby care is a difficult job, don’t get me wrong. There’s diapers, health worries, sleepness nights, and all the paranoia associated with having a little bundle of energy running around your house and making a mess; but all Avi has to do is smile and laugh, and everything is forgiven.

Thank you, Avi. For making your dad such a sap.

What else am I thankful for? Well, my writing. I’m grateful that I’m good enough at this that I can at least make some money off it to help feed my family. And that I’m skilled enough at writing fantastical fantasy fantasies to at least please my writing group (most of the time). I like writing enough that I’m comfortable¬† doing it as a day job, as a side business, and as a hobby all at the same time. I don’t see that changing any time soon.

There are other things that I’m thankful for, of course. Relatives. Friends. My house. Ramen. But these are really the three that take the proverbial Turkey Cake.

What are you thankful for?

One comment on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Writing Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here. Thanks again for sharing.

    Love commenting, blogging, or writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

Leave a Reply

